Susan Johnson

Women's Basketball Head Coach Susan Johnson

Georgetown College Women’s basketball head coach Susan Johnson is among 15 selected for the NAIA 2009-10 Hall of Fame Class, it was announced Wednesday. Her induction is scheduled during the NAIA Division I women’s Basketball National Championship in Jackson, Tennessee, on March 16, 2010. The honor is the highest bestowed by the National Association of Intercollegiate Athletics. Individuals inducted into the NAIA Hall of Fame must be persons of outstanding quality, high moral character, and fine leadership ability. They must also be held in high esteem by colleagues, coaches and athletes.

Coach Johnson has been serving Georgetown College with dedication, loyalty and passion since 1978. During her tenure, she has accumulated a record of 554-339 and has a long list of highlights throughout her career including 11 NAIA national tournament appearances and three Elite Eight finishes. Her teams have won six Mid-South Conference Championships, three KIAC Championships and three NAIA District/Regional Championships. Coach Johnson has been named the Mid-South Conference Coach of the Year four times, the KIAC Coach of the Year three times and was given the NAIA Great Lakes Region Coach of the Year Award in 1994.

In its announcement, the NAIA stated, “Coach Johnson has always shown a strong commitment to the mission and ideals of the NAIA and has been an outstanding ambassador and proponent for women’s athletics at Georgetown College and within the KIAC and Mid-South Conferences.”

In addition to her coaching duties, Johnson teaches in Georgetown College’s Kinesiology and Health Studies Department and serves as the president of the Kentucky Women’s Intercollegiate Consortium. She is also a member of the NAIA/WBCA Nominating Committee and is a former NAIA representative to the WBCA Board of Directors.

“The NAIA Hall of Fame recognizes the remarkable contributions of student-athletes, coaches, athletic administrators and longtime NAIA supporters,” said Jim Carr, NAIA President and CEO. “The individuals that make up the 2009-10 class have made a considerable impact on intercollegiate athletics. I applaud their achievements and congratulate them on this tremendous honor.”

The 2009-10 NAIA Hall of Fame class includes, besides Coach Johnson:

  • Elvin “Al” Papik, Doane (Neb.) College – Football, Coach;
  • Bob Young, University of Sioux Falls (S.D.)- Football, Coach;
  • Brian Harvey, Oklahoma City University -Soccer, Coach;
  • Jim Davies, California Pacific Conference, Meritorious Service;
  • Funda Aliskan-Sinani, Dickinson State (N.D.) University – Volleyball, Athlete;
  • Dr. Phil and Mary Pattison, Division I Men’s Basketball Honorary Coaches – Meritorious Service;
  • Herman “Buddy” Meyer, St. Mary’s University – Men’s Basketball, Coach;
  • Randy Kortokrax, The University of Findlay – Men’s Basketball, Athlete;
  • Jim Boeve, Hastings (Neb.) College – Baseball, Meritorious Service;
  • Cheryl Schaefer, Point Loma Nazarene (Calif.) University – Softball, Athlete;
  • Jeff Griebel, St. Ambrose (Iowa) University – Men’s Golf, Coach;
  • Bryan Clay, Azusa Pacific (Calif.) University – Track & Field, Athlete;
  • Dr. Mary Livengood, Doane (Neb.) College – Track & Field, Athlete.