Georgetown News-Graphic

Georgetown College is the newest member in one of the nation’s oldest national honor societies.

In a ceremony held Sunday at the Georgetown College Conference and training Center, the college installed its first chapter in the Phi Kappa Phi honor society. The society became a national association in 1900.

Terry Mathias, North Central Regional vice president for Phi Kappa Phi, helped lead the installation.

“It’s such a great delight to have these opportunities,” Mathias told the audience at the ceremony’s start. “This will be a historic occasion.”

Installing the chapter and inducting its member and officers provided Mathias with a “Swell of satisfaction,” he said.

Achieving Phi Kappa Phi status is another way of “recognizing intelligence and hard work,” Georgetown College Phi Kappa Phi President Dr. Christine Leverenz said.

The establishment of the Phi Kappa Phi chapter also represents the second step in a series of honorary organizations, said Georgetown College president

Dr. William H. Crouch Jr. The first was Omicron Delta Kappa, a student honorary organization and next step is PHi Beta Kappa, Crouch said.

“For 216 years, Georgetown College has been working toward this event,” Crouch said. “We’ve truly set ourselves apart today with this wonderful ceremony.”

Mathias led the induction of 21 Georgetown seniors, 19 juniors and one faculty member–Dr. Keon Chi, professor of political science and director of academic science and director of academic honors programs.

Crouch and Dr. Janice Shelton, chair of the College’s Board of Trustees, were also inducted.

Phi Kappa Phi officers introduced Sunday included Leverenz, president elect Dr. John Campbell, treasurer Dr. Bobby W. Burchette, public relations Dr. Glenn C. Rogers and secretary JoAnne M. Nartowicz. A vice president will be selected by the student initiates.

Other charter members include Stephanie M. Adams, Dr. Jon Dalager, Derek G. Gordon, Dr. Jean M. Ippolito, Susan J. Knies, Dr. Horace M. Lewis, Dr. J. Christopher Nix, Dr. William F. Pollard, Dr. Judy R. Rodgers, Thomas E. Rogers IV, Dr. Nancy E. Schoenberg, Dr. Edward B. Smith and Dr. David W. Sogin. Pollard was originally inducted while vice president at Evansville University.

Senior inductees include  Christopher Bolus, Elizabeth Brown, Joesph Campbell, Courtney Carter, Stephanie Collins, Timothy Finley, Christy Garland, Shemeka Gill, John Hale, Andrew Harris, Jeffrey Heath, Meredith Holladay, Melissa Mahurin, Laura Mays, Joshua McCoy, Dustin Neel, Martin Rains, Heidi Sorrell, Katie Thompson, Christian Unick and Ashley Willis.

Junior inductees include Sara Becker, Mary Burzlaff, Ashley Callahan, Rachel Canterbury, Farrah Dickens, Amber Dillon, Joshua Fenner, Jessica Forge, Jennifer McKinney, Neely McLaughlin, Leslie Mooney, Lindsay Moorman, Whitney Purcell, Julie Roark, Amanda Shearer, Katrina Smith, Sarah Srodulski, Jenny Starnes and David Wernsing.

A committee will review potential candidates among alumni, faculty and special friends of the college. The chapter must hold two meetings annually, Mathias said.

All society members must abide by one motto: “Let the love of learning rule humanity.”