GEORGETOWN, Ky. – Outstanding student academic achievement is recognized annually during Georgetown College’s Academic Honors Day.


Dean’s Award recipients Kurtis Mann, Genee Johns, and Eric Mortberg with Dr. Rosemary Allen. (Photo: Paul Atkinson, Rockledge Photography)

Numerous awards are presented. These include special recognitions by departments within the five major academic divisions: Fine Arts, Humanities, Natural and Life Science, Professional Studies, and Social Science.

While all awards are significant in rewarding excellence in academic pursuit by Georgetown College students, the Dean’s Award represents a true milestone.

For 2014, there are three honorees, all Kentucky natives: Charles Kurtis Mann from Finchville, Eric Mortberg from Crestwood, and Whitney Genee Johns, Catlettsburg.

In presenting the Award, Dr. Rosemary Allen, Provost and Academic Dean, said its recipients “demonstrated their commitment to active thinking and stretching themselves to accept challenges.”

Mr. Mann’s nominator, said Dr. Allen, described him as one who always seeks out unusual courses to fulfill his academic requirements, has studied and done summer research at Oxford, and has a broad-based intellectual interest complemented by high achievement in his Mathematics major. He plans to attend graduate school in mathematics at the University of Kentucky.

Mr. Mortberg also successfully studied at Oxford and is one of only two Georgetown College students to ever have been accepted for and completed a prestigious NSA fellowship. The Math and Physics major plans to pursue graduate study in mathematics at Case Western Reserve University.

The third recipient was described by her nominator as “intelligent, curious, hardworking, responsible, honest, conscientious, and caring,” said Dr. Allen. She noted also that Ms. Johns is described as one who seeks academic challenge and who embraces the opportunity to learn and succeed in and out of the classroom. The music and psychology major plans to attend graduate school to pursue a degree in music therapy.

All three recipients are completing Honors Projects that demonstrate a range of achievement.

This year’s ceremony was held on Tuesday, April 22, in John L. Hill Chapel. View archived video of Academic Honors Day.