PKP_CIRCLEGEORGETOWN, KY – Georgetown College’s Phi Kappa Phi chapter has invited nine graduating seniors and 20 juniors to become members of the nation’s oldest, largest, and most selective collegiate honor society for all academic disciplines.

To be invited to join Georgetown’s chapter of PKP, seniors must rank in the top 10 percent of their class. Senior invitees this year are Sean Fightmaster (Accounting), Union, Ky.; Natalie Hill (Athletic Training), Louisville; Lynsey Jordan (Art), Winchester, Ky.; Emily Kendall (Elementary Education), Cynthiana, Ky.; Monica Lincoln (Biology), Latonia, Ky.; Eric Mortberg (Mathematics & Physics) and Seaton Stiles (Communication/Media Studies & Psychology), Crestwood, Ky.; Kathryn Ward (Psychology), Hopkinsville, Ky.; and Samantha Whitlock (Elementary Education), Louisville.

Juniors must have completed at least seventy-two credit hours and rank scholastically in the top 7.5 percent of their class. The junior invitees this year are Elizabeth Ash (Mathematics), Crestwood, Ky.; Taylor Babbs (Athletic Training), Sturgis, Ky.; Christopher Bartlett (History and European Studies), Katelyn Prewitt (Sociology) and Adam Wetherington (Political Science and Spanish), Louisville; Peyton Blanton (Nursing Arts) and Hannah Prassal (Psychology), Georgetown, Ky.; Braden Bocard (undeclared), Catlettsburg, Ky.; Corri Collins (Biology), Stanton, Ky.; Bradley Cundiff (Chemistry), Cox’s Creek, Ky.; Austin Fraley (Religion and Philosophy), Paris, Ky.; Stephanie Gurren (Biology), Erlanger, Ky.; Austin Meek (undeclared) and Makenna Williams (Biology), Lexington, Ky.; Sarah Parker (Sociology), Middlesboro, Ky.; Nathan Pitzer (Spanish), Frankfort, Ky.; Danielle Ransdell (Nursing Arts), Owenton, Ky.; Meredith Scalos (Political Science and German), Campbellsville, Ky., Catherine Shelburne (Art), La Grange, Ky.; and Linh Vuong (Business Administration and Communication/Media Studies), Ha Noi, Vietnam.

Dr. Regan Lookadoo, Associate Professor of Psychology, Department of Psychology, the current Georgetown PKP chapter president, commented, “Phi Kappa Phi is an honorary society where students who have shown academic excellence can join together in a community that recognizes and appreciates their accomplishments. It is an honor for these excellent Georgetown College juniors and seniors to be invited to join Phi Kappa Phi and they should be proud of their hard work and dedication.”

Undergraduate students in any department of a college or university having a Phi Kappa Phi chapter who have completed at least twenty-four (24) semester hours or the equivalent at that institution are eligible. Because Phi Kappa Phi recognizes and promotes academic excellence in all fields of higher education, one’s field of study may be in any discipline.

Achieving Phi Kappa Phi status is another way of “recognizing intelligence and hard work,” said Dr. Christine Leverenz, the chapter’s charter president and its current treasurer. Dr. Leverenz is Professor of Mathematics, Department of Mathematics, Physics, and Computer Science. Georgetown’s PKP chapter was installed in 2003.

Faculty, professional staff, and alumni who have achieved scholarly distinction are also eligible for PKP membership. Georgetown College’s PKP Chapter has invited these faculty members to join: Darrell Kincer, M.F.A., Associate Professor of Art; Deborah B. Madden, M.B.A., Associate Professor of Accounting; Leslie Phillips, Ph.D., Associate Professor of Kinesiology and Health Sciences; and Rebecca Singer, Ph.D., Associate Professor of Psychology.

The Chapter’s initiation ceremony is set for Sunday, April 6, at 3 p.m. in the Ward Room, first floor, of the Ensor Learning Resource Center. A reception for initiates and their families follows.

The Phi Kappa Phi honor society was established in 1897. Its chapters are on more than 300 campuses in the United States, Puerto Rico, and the Philippines. Each year, approximately 30,000 members are initiated.

All society members must abide by one motto: “Let the love of learning rule humanity.”


For more information, contact:
Dr. Regan Lookadoo, Chapter President