GEORGETOWN,  KY—Five Georgetown College alumni were elected to the Georgetown College Board of Trustees during the October 26 meeting of the board in Georgetown. They begin their terms of service in January, 2014.

The five new trustees are: David Adkisson ’73; Tucker Ballinger ’94; David Knox ’64; Sarah Wilson ’81, and Guthrie Zaring ’87.


David Adkisson

David Adkisson is a cum laude graduate of Georgetown. During his junior year, he was student government vice president and was SGA president during his senior year. He was a member of Lambda Chi Alpha, Baptist Student Union, a dorm counselor, and a member of the Georgetonian staff. After graduating from Georgetown, Dave earned a master’s degree from Harvard University. He later served as mayor of Owensboro, Ky. and is a former president and CEO of the Owensboro Chamber of Commerce. He is a member of the board of the U.S. Chamber of Commerce, former chair of the American Chamber of Commerce Executives, and current chair of the Council of State Chambers. He also serves on the board of the Governor’s Scholars Program.

Dave and his wife, Bonnie ’75, live in Lexington and are the parents of Kendra and Cyrus.


Tucker Ballinger

During his student days at Georgetown, Tucker Ballinger was the linebacker on the Tigers’ 1991 National Championship Team and a member of Kappa Alpha Order. Today, he serves on the boards of the American Red Cross, REACH (Resource, Education, and Community Housing), Commerce Lexington, CureKY Kids, and the Kentucky Economic Development Finance Authority.

Tucker is president/CEO of Forcht Bank in Lexington. He is a graduate of both Leadership Kentucky and Leadership Shelby County. These days, Tucker enjoys running and coaching youth sports.

Tucker and his wife, Kay, have two children, Bella and Benton.


David Knox

David Knox was a chemistry major and biology minor at Georgetown and was a member of Kappa Alpha Order. He entered the University of Kentucky School Of Law after graduating from Georgetown. He completed law school in 1969. During his law career, David practiced  with Greenebaum, Doll & McDonald and also has served as an Assistant County Attorney, Assistant Commonwealth Attorney, Court of Appeals Judge, Circuit Judge, and District Judge before his retirement. He was awarded the Henry V. Pennington Outstanding Trial Judge Award.

David is retired and lives with his wife, Barbara ’63, in Georgetown. They are the parents of Emily Knox Moon and David Bennett Knox.


Sarah Wilson

Sarah “Bookie” Hayes Wilson is a magna cum laude graduate of Georgetown College where she was a member of Kappa Delta. She later earned the MLS degree from the University of Kentucky. A former owner of The Cotton Patch Women’s Clothing Store in Lexington, Bookie currently works with the Woodford County Public Library. Additionally, she is a former legislative analyst for the Commonwealth of Kentucky. Today, she serves on the Early Childhood Literacy Council.

Bookie and her husband, Judge, are the parents of two daughters, Betsy and Maggie, who is a senior at Georgetown.


Guthrie Zaring

Guthrie Zaring was a biology major and chemistry minor during his undergraduate days and was president of the Georgetown College Student Foundation. He was a recipient of the Christian Leadership Scholarship and was a member of Phi Kappa Tau. Guthrie is a therapeutic account manager for Sunovion Pharmaceuticals and is a realtor with Julie Pogue Properties in Anchorage, Ky. He is a former institutional trustee of the Kentucky Independent College Fund and has served or is serving on the boards of the Farmington Historic Plantation in Louisville, the Headley-Whitney Museum in Lexington, the Association of Independent Kentucky Colleges and Universities, and the Kentucky Independent College Fund. He served on the Georgetown College Alumni Advisory Board from 1992-1994 and today is president of the Georgetown College Alumni Board.

Guthrie and his wife, Lisa, are parents of Drayden, Patrick, and Elizabeth.

As the new trustees assume spots on the board, the terms of three others expire. Departing board members are Bob Hook of Louisville, David Jones of Louisville and Jamie Hargrove of Pee Wee Valley.

The new trustees, who bring the board to 26 members, are elected to initially serve a three-year term.