Georgetown, KY — Georgetown College’s Phi Kappa Phi chapter has invited thirteen graduating seniors, twenty-five juniors and seven newly-tenured faculty to become members of one of the oldest and most prestigious national honor societies. The initiation ceremony is set for Sunday, March 25, at 3 p.m. in the Ward Room, first floor, of the Ensor Learning Resource Center, followed by a reception in the Hall of Fame Room of Cralle Student Center.

Senior invitees are Rachel Ward (Spanish), Hannah Osborne (History) and Adriana Nunez (Sociology), all from Georgetown, KY; Caitlyn Kogge (Exercise Science), Danville; Kelsey Luckett (Business Administration), Louisville; Caitlin Williams (Spanish), Murray; Portia Watson (English & Cultural Studies), Mount Washington; Katherine Rapier (Psychology & Philosophy) and Jesse Simpson (Psychology), Bardstown; Hannah Maloy (Biology), Rush; Sarah Carey (English), Mackville; Hannah Flanery (Political Science & Philosophy), Ashland; and Chris Lord (Sociology & Spanish), Ooltewah, TN.

Junior invitees are Samantha Sangster (Biology) and Rebecca Short (Psychology), Louisville; Kacey Stuck (Economics) and Mary Metcalfe (Art), Georgetown; Meredith Rigby (Music) and Hanna Sharp (Psychology), Richmond; Rachael Castillo (English), Paducah; Elizabeth Botner (Environmental Science), Corbin; Rachel Penn (Accounting) and Katie Sanders (Commerce, Language & Culture), Lexington; Khant Minn (Physics), Thingangyun, Yangon (Country: Myanmar); Ashleigh Barker (Psychology), Worthington; Julia Smith (Mathematics), Rineyville; Kari Steffen (Psychology & Communications), Latonia; Brittany Blanton (Chemistry), Mount Sterling; Victoria Crosby (Elementary Education), Winchester; Anna Fiechter (Environmental Science), London; Charles Crowe (Chemistry), Frankfort; Matthew Dudgeon (Chemistry), Crestwood; Allie Whitley (Chemistry), Grayson; Sheridan Buck (Biology), Versailles; Jaime Horne (Psychology), Paris; Layla Jasper (Sociology), Somerset; Jennifer Stephenson (Studio Art), La Grange; and Corey Howell (English), Inez.

In addition, these newly-tenured faculty members are being invited to become PKP members: Holly Barbaccia, PhD, Associate Professor of English; Eric Carter, PhD, Associate Professor and Chair, Department of  Sociology; Yolanda Gallardo Carter, PhD, Associate Professor of Education and Dean of Education;  Kristin Czarnecki, PhD, Associate Professor of English;  Tim Griffith, PhD, Associate Professor of Biology; Heather Hunnicutt, DM, Associate Professor and Chair, Department of Music; and Danny Thorne, PhD, Associate Professor of Computer Science.

Achieving Phi Kappa Phi status is another way of “recognizing intelligence and hard work,” said Dr. Christine Leverenz, the chapter’s charter president and its current treasurer. Dr. Leverenz is Professor of Mathematics, Department of Mathematics, Physics, Computer Science.

Dr. Emily Stow, Associate Professor of Spanish and Chair, Department of Modern and Classical Languages and Cultures, the current Georgetown PKP chapter president, commented, “Being invited to join PKP is an honor, and these juniors and seniors should be very proud of their accomplishments.”

Georgetown’s PKP chapter was installed in 2003. The Phi Kappa Phi honor society was established in 1897. All society members must abide by one motto: “Let the love of learning rule humanity.”


 For additional information:

Jim Allison
PKP Historian/Public Relations
Associate VP College Relations