Georgetown, Ky. – In celebration of its 20th anniversary, the Partnership for Successful Schools (Partnership) today brought together more than 50 Kentuckians who had been involved in the organization’s work since it was formed in 1991.

Recognized during the gathering were John R. Hall, former chairman and chief executive officer of Ashland Inc., and David A. Jones, former chairman and chief executive officer of Humana Inc., who founded the organization along with Kent C. “Oz” Nelson, former chairman and chief executive officer of UPS, who was unable to attend. The event took place in the Richard and Karen Ward Room of Georgetown College’s Ensor Learning Resource Center.

To permanently recognize the contribution of the three Partnership founders, Georgetown President William H. Crouch, Jr., who serves as vice chair for the Partnership, announced that the auditorium for a new campus educational building will be named in their honor as the Hall-Jones-Nelson Auditorium.

Also recognized was Carolyn Witt Jones ‘63, who has been the leader of the Partnership since its inception. She was surprised with a beautiful, limited edition bronze statue by sculptor Douwe Blomberg.

Originally called the Partnership for Kentucky School Reform, the organization was created to support the 1990 Kentucky Education Reform Act (KERA), the most sweeping education reform legislation inrecent United States history.