Students from Georgetown College, KSU and Ouachita Baptist University

Four students from The First Tee’s inaugural class of Scholars (2003) graduated from college on May 12, 2007. Angelika Huguley from Kansas State University, Kenneth Patterson, from Ouachita Baptist University in Arkadelphia AR, and Christopher Hawkins and Steven Outlaw from Georgetown College in Kentucky became the first participants from The First Tee Scholars Program to graduate.

“This is an incredible milestone for The First Tee and a wonderful accomplishment for each of our Scholars,” said Joe Louis Barrow, Jr., executive director of The First Tee and senior vice president of the World Golf Foundation. “It has been remarkable to see the transformation of these young people from teenagers into successful young adults. We look forward to their professional accomplishments and are grateful for their continued support of The First Tee.”

The First Tee Scholars Program was founded in 2001 by Dr. William Crouch of Georgetown College. After hearing 16-year-old Steven Outlaw speak in front of 500 men and women at The First Tee Annual Meeting in 2001, Dr. Crouch, a National Trustee of The First Tee, spontaneously offered Outlaw a scholarship to Georgetown College; and The First Tee Scholars Program was born. Since then over 30 colleges and universities have embraced the program and offered leadership scholarships to qualified participants.

“I knew I wanted that young man at Georgetown College and others like him who are learning the character values associated with the game of golf,” said Crouch. “Steven and Chris have set the bar high for this college and The First Tee Scholars Program – and as they go out into the world, we look forward to welcoming incoming freshmen Christian Heavens and Jessica Collins.”

Angelika Huguley from The First Tee of Manhattan, KS graduated with a double major in political science and international studies, and a minor in leadership studies. She plans to go to law school and become a criminal prosecuting attorney. In 2004 she interned with the Wal-Mart First Tee Open at Pebble Beach and volunteered as a leadership counselor during The First Tee Life Skills and Leadership Academy at Kansas State last summer. As an academy participant in 2001, she was the recipient of the Renee Powell Outstanding Female Leader award.

“Angelika has been an outstanding student and role model for so many youngsters from across the nation,” said Bob Krause, vice president of Kansas State University. “We are very proud of her and know that she will continue to be a leader and exhibit the core values of The First Tee.”

Kenneth Patterson majored in mass communications with a minor in marketing at Ouachita Baptist University. He is a senior staff member at The First Tee of Central Arkansas where he has been employed since his freshman year. The Arkansas native has aspirations of obtaining his PGA certification and furthering his education. In the summer of 2004, Patterson interned at The First Tee home office in St. Augustine, Florida.

“We are so pleased that The First Tee Scholars program brought Kenneth to Ouachita,” said Dr. Rex M. Horne, Jr., president of Ouachita Baptist University. “I have known Kenneth for many years. He is a positive and versatile leader with a very bright future. We also appreciate the contributions that Jake Kleine, another Scholar from The First Tee, is bringing to our campus community. We know Jake will do well.”
Georgetown College graduate Chris Hawkins is a business administration major and Spanish minor. He is taking a five-week immersion class in Mexico after graduation and is actively involved with The First Tee of Atlanta. Fellow graduate Steven Outlaw of The First Tee of Hammond (Indiana) is a political science major and psychology minor. In the summer of 2004, he interned with Wilson Golf in Chicago through a corporate partnership with The First Tee.

In addition to the accolades above, all four Scholars attended the PricewaterhouseCoopers Executive Forum in 2004 during THE PLAYERS Championship in Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida and have spoken in front of hundreds of people on behalf of The First Tee.

About The First Tee

The First Tee ( is an initiative of the World Golf Foundation, a 501(c)(3)
nonprofit organization based in St. Augustine, FL at World Golf Village, home of the World Golf Hall of Fame. Its mission is to impact the lives of young people by providing learning facilities and educational programs that promote character development and life-enhancing values through the game of golf. Since its inception in 1997, The First Tee has introduced the game of golf and its values to over 1.5 million participants and students in 47 states and five countries – Australia, Canada, Ireland, New Zealand, and Singapore. Former President George Bush serves as honorary chairman.

As Founding Corporate Partner of The First Tee, Shell Oil Company has provided financial resources to support the development of this charitable youth initiative aimed at promoting character development and life-enhancing values through the game of golf. Because of Shell’s initial contribution, The First Tee has garnered the support of hundreds of corporations and organizations that have provided financial or promotional support to The First Tee and its Chapters.