Our thanks to all of you for participating in our writing contest, and we’re sorry for any disappointment you might feel at not having your work selected for publication—some of us here are writers, too, so we know not getting in an issue isn’t a pleasant experience. We received 897 submissions to this year’s contest, and following are the winner and runners-up, all of whom will receive publication.



  • Katie Beers, “If love was like” poem
  • John Blair, “The Canonical Hours” poem
  • Mary Fitzpatrick, “Fish Market” poem
  • Kit Frick, “Mt. Washington” poem
  • Kirstin Hotelling Zona, “Cherries” poem
  • Margaret MacInnis, “Sweet Life” prose
  • Mark Wagenaar, “Baladere Notturno” poem
  • Bradford Winters, “Another Cop Show” poem