Facebook Us!


Subscribe by Email

Phi Kappa Phi invites new members

Staff Writer

Here at Georgetown College, Phi Kappa Phi, established in 1897 as the nation’s oldest, largest and most selective collegiate honor society for all academic disciplines, has invited eighteen graduating seniors, twenty-two juniors and eight newly-tenured faculty to become its newest members.

This will be a huge honor for all the new inductees as Phi Kappa Phi recognizes and promotes academic excellence in all fields of higher education. Undergrad students in any department who have completed at least 24 semester hours are eligible for consideration. To be invited to join the society at Georgetown, seniors must rank in the top 10 percent of their class and juniors must have completed at least 72 credit hours and rank scholastically in the top 7.5 percent of their class. Faculty, professional staff and alumni who have achieved scholarly distinction are also eligible for membership. All society members abide by the motto: “Let the love of learning rule humanity.”

The induction ceremony will take place Sunday, April 7, at 3p.m. in the Ward Room, first floor, of the Ensor Learning Resource Center on campus. A reception will follow for initiates and their family and friends.

Senior inductees this year include Charles D. Crowe (chemistry) and Claire Elise Strnad (sociology/religion), Georgetown, KY; Rebecca Hope Short (psychology), Molly A. Shoulta (political science/communications and media studies) and Olivia Cibelle Zendja (accounting), all from Louisville; Rachel Renee Penn (accounting) and Brittany R. Thompson (psychology/communications and media studies), Lexington; Phillip Keith Davis (religion/spanish), Somerset; Matthew Gregory Dudgeon (chemistry), Crestwood; Finnja Ramcke (psychology), Frankfort; Rachael Ann Castillo (English), Paducah; Daniel Mason Head (English), Owensboro; Lauren Alyssa Hiller (business administration) and Zachary J. Robke (history), Independence; Shanna G. Robinson (English), Carlisle; Jennifer Michelle Stephenson (art), La Grange; Kristen Ashlee Rowe (biology), Albion, IL; and Meredith K. Rigby (music), Ypsilanti, Mich.

Junior inductees this year include Chelsea Lee Brown (undeclared), Albany; Caliesha Lavonne Comley (sociology), Richmond; Mary Katherine Dowdy (history/psychology), Lexington; Sara Caitlyn Easterling (biology) and Alyshia Kay Powell (economics), Winchester; Emily Ann Eicher (exercise science), Monticello; Rachel Janeen Floyd (undeclared), Somerset; Ashley Ryann Fox (biology), Corbin; Kara Hope Gilvin (elementary education), De Mossville; Emily Rebecca Gumm (biology) and Natalie Elizabeth Hill (athletic training), Louisville; Grant Allen Harned (communications and media studies), Paducah; Evan M. Jacoby (chemistry) and Leanndra W. Padgett (English), Lexington; Whitney Genee Johns (music), Catlettsburg; Anna Elizabeth Meurer (religion/history), Danville; Dennis A. Propp (biology) and Seaton Elizabeth Stiles (communications and media studies/psychology), Crestwood; Taylor M. Shaw (psychology/communications and media studies), Shelbyville; Brandon Michael Tolliver (Spanish), Morning View; Jensen Wainscott (elementary education), Northville; and Michelle R. Larberg (biology), Sylvania, Ohio.

Inductees this year also include these newly-tenured faculty members:  Terry Ray Clark, PhD, Associate Professor of religion; Jay Castaneda, PhD, Associate Professor of psychology; Susan Dummer, PhD, Associate Professor of communication and media studies; J. Daniel Graham, M.F.A., Associate Professor of art; Mami Hayashida, D.M.A., Associate Professor of music; Laura Hunt, PhD, Associate Professor of Spanish; Patrick G. Sheridan, PhD, Associate Professor of chemistry; and Alexandru Spatariu, PhD, Associate Professor of education.

Each of these students and faculty members have proven themselves a great asset to Georgetown and an honor to their respective fields. For their academic devotion and success, we should all be proud! I’m sure I join the rest of the Georgetown College Community when I say Congratulations to all of our newest Phi Kappa Phi honor society inductees!